11th Dorian Award Nominees Revealed by GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics announced the nominees for the 11th annual Dorian awards in Los Angeles today.

Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite and Céline Sciamma’s Portrait of a Lady on Fire each received six nominations, while Pedro Almodóvar’s Pain and Glory received five.

“It’s a true testament to the rising impact of global films, and the ability of film to move us in any language, to see films from a variety of countries rank so highly with our Dorian Awards voters,” says GALECA President Diane Anderson-Minshall, Editorial Director of The Advocate. “We’re proud to help remind everyone that the world can connect through cinema.”

The eligibility window for the 11th Dorian Awards’ television categories ran January 1st to November 1st 2019 following GALECA’s recent announcement that it will separate its TV categories from film later in 2020.

“We want the work and power of LGBTQ entertainment journalists to be as recognized and visible as possible, and having our Dorians gradually mirror the Emmys’ calendar and the traditional TV season is a part of that effort,” said John Griffiths, GALECA’s founder and Executive Director. TV programs that premiered in the remainder of 2019 will be eligible for autumn’s first television-centric Dorian Awards.

The 11th Dorian Award Winners will be announced on Wednesday January 8th 2020. Booksmart director Olivia Wilde will receive a special honour at the group’s Dorian Awards Winners Toast on Sunday February 2nd in Los Angeles.


(Categories with six or more contenders involve a tie)

Film of the Year

Little Women
Once Upon a Time in … Hollywood
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Director of the Year 

Pedro Almodóvar, Pain and Glory 
Greta Gerwig, Little Women
Bong Joon-ho, Parasite
Sam Mendes, 1917
Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Film Performance of the Year — Actress 

Awkwafina, The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o, Us
Alfre Woodard, Clemency
Renée Zellweger, Judy

Film Performance of the Year — Actor

Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems
Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Film Performance of the Year — Supporting Actress 

Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Florence Pugh, Little Women
Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
Margot Robbie, Bombshell
Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Film Performance of the Year — Supporting Actor

Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Al Pacino, The Irishman 
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in … Hollywood
Song Kang-ho, Parasite

LGBTQ Film of the Year 

End of the Century 
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Foreign Language Film of the Year

The Atlantics 
Pain and Glory 
Portrait of a Lady on Fire
The Farewell

Screenplay of the Year

Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won, Parasite
Greta Gerwig, Little Women
Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Rian Johnson, Knives Out

Documentary of the Year 

American Factory
Apollo 11
For Sama
One Child Nation

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year 

Circus of Books 
Gay Chorus Deep South
The Gospel of Eureka
Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street

Visually Striking Film of the Year 

The Lighthouse
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Unsung Film of the Year

Her Smell
Gloria Bell
The Last Black Man in San Francisco

Campy Flick of the Year 

Knives Out

TV Drama of the Year


TV Comedy of the Year

The Other Two 
Russian Doll
Schitt’s Creek

TV Performance of the Year — Actor 

Bill Hader, Barry
Dan Levy, Schitt’s Creek
Jharrel Jerome, When They See Us
Billy Porter, Pose 
Jeremy Strong, Succession

TV Performance of the Year — Actress 

Natasha Lyonne, Russian Doll
Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek
Mj Rodriguez, Pose
Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag
Michelle Williams, Fosse/Verdon

LGBTQ TV Show of the Year 

The Other Two
Schitt’s Creek
Tales of the City 

Unsung TV Show of the Year

Gentleman Jack
On Becoming a God in Central Florida
The Other Two
Years and Years

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year

Full Frontal with Samantha Bee 
The Rachel Maddow Show
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert
Leaving Neverland  

TV Musical Performance of the Year

Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, “Shallow,” The 91st Academy Awards
Lizzo, “Truth Hurts,” VMAs 2019
Megan Mullally, “The Man That Got Way,” Will & Grace
Annie Murphy, “A Little Bit Alexis,” Schitt’s Creek
Michelle Williams, “Who’s Got the Pain?,” Fosse/Verdon

Campy TV Show of the Year 

American Horror Story 1984
Big Little Lies
RuPaul’s Drag Race
The Politician

The “We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award

Roman Griffin Davis 
Kaitlyn Dever
Beanie Feldstein
Florence Pugh
Hunter Schafer

Wilde Wit of the Year 
(Honouring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse)

Dan Levy
Billy Porter 
Randy Rainbow
Taika Waititi
Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Wilde Artist of the Decade (Special Accolade)

Greta Gerwig
Ryan Murphy
Billy Porter
Phoebe Waller-Bridge
Lady Gaga

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics, comprised of 260 mainly U.S. journalists covering film and television. A member of CGEM: Critics Groups for Equality in Media, GALECA aims to generate camaraderie and solidarity in an unsettling media environment, champion constructive film and television criticism and elevate the craft of entertainment journalism. Via panels, screenings and our annual Dorian Awards, GALECA also strives to remind at-risk youth, bullies and bigots that the world looks to the Q eye for leads on great, unique movies and TV. And how would the world fare without knowing what’s campy?

For more details on the organisation head to GALECA.org and follow The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics on Instagram @Dorian_Awards and on Twitter @DorianAwards and Facebook at DorianAwards.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: