Schitt’s Creek Star Catherine O’Hara Named Timeless Star by LGBTQ Critics in 11th Dorian Awards – full list of winners

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics has just announced the winners of its 11th annual Dorian Awards. Schitt’s Creek star and all-round comedy legend Catherine O’Hara was honoured with the group’s career achievement award and named its Timeless Star, while Lady Gaga was named Wilde Artist of the Decade.

Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite reigned supreme in this year’s awards with five wins including Film of the Year, Director of the Year and Foreign Language Film of the Year. For the second year running FX’s Pose was named both TV Drama of the Year and LGBTQ TV Drama, while one of the show’s stars Billy Porter won the Dorian for TV Performance of the Year — Actor. In the film acting categories Antonio Banderas, Renée Zellweger, Song Kang-ho and Jennifer Lopez were all rewarded for their work.

LGBTQ Film of the Year was won by Céline Sciamma’s Portrait of a Lady on Fire, while LGBTQ Documentary of the Year went to Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street.

“GALECA members strive to determine the best cinematic experiences through the distinct LGBTQ lens, and this year was particularly rich in options,” said GALECA President Diane Anderson-Minshall, Editorial Director of The Advocate. “Yet when director Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite practically swept our awards roster with five wins, I was not surprised. The dynamic, darkly comic drama about a poor family conniving to live the good lifespeaks to the times we live in, with vivid commentary on class, inequity and even climate change. Parasite is a perfect film for the Trump era.”


Film of the Year

Little Women
Once Upon a Time in … Hollywood
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Director of the Year 

Pedro Almodovar, Pain and Glory 
Greta Gerwig, Little Women
*Bong Joon-ho, Parasite
Sam Mendes, 1917
Celine Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Film Performance of the Year — Actress 

Awkwafina, The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o, Us
Alfre Woodard, Clemency
*Renée Zellweger, Judy

Film Performance of the Year — Actor

*Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems
Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Film Performance of the Year — Supporting Actress 

Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Florence Pugh, Little Women
*Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
Margot Robbie, Bombshell
Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Film Performance of the Year — Supporting Actor

Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Al Pacino, The Irishman 
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in … Hollywood
*Song Kang-ho, Parasite

LGBTQ Film of the Year 

End of the Century 
Pain and Glory
*Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Foreign Language Film of the Year

The Atlantics 
Pain and Glory 
Portrait of a Lady on Fire
The Farewell

Screenplay of the Year

Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
*Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won, Parasite
Greta Gerwig, Little Women
Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Rian Johnson, Knives Out

Documentary of the Year 

American Factory
Apollo 11
For Sama
One Child Nation

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year 

Circus of Books 
Gay Chorus Deep South
The Gospel of Eureka
*Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street

Visually Striking Film of the Year ** TIE

The Lighthouse
*Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Unsung Film of the Year

Her Smell
Gloria Bell
The Last Black Man in San Francisco

Campy Flick of the Year 

Knives Out

TV Drama of the Year


TV Comedy of the Year

The Other Two 
Russian Doll
Schitt’s Creek

TV Performance of the Year — Actor 

Bill Hader, Barry
Dan Levy, Schitt’s Creek
Jharrel Jerome, When They See Us
*Billy Porter, Pose 
Jeremy Strong, Succession

TV Performance of the Year — Actress 

Natasha Lyonne, Russian Doll
Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek
Mj Rodriguez, Pose
*Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag
Michelle Williams, Fosse/Verdon

LGBTQ TV Show of the Year 

The Other Two
Schitt’s Creek
Tales of the City 

Unsung TV Show of the Year

Gentleman Jack
On Becoming a God in Central Florida
*The Other Two
Years and Years

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year

Full Frontal with Samantha Bee 
The Rachel Maddow Show
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert
*Leaving Neverland  

TV Musical Performance of the Year

*Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, “Shallow,” The 91st Academy Awards
Lizzo, “Truth Hurts,” VMAs 2019
Megan Mullally, “The Man That Got Way,” Will & Grace
Annie Murphy, “A Little Bit Alexis,” Schitt’s Creek
Michelle Williams, “Who’s Got the Pain?,” Fosse/Verdon

Campy TV Show of the Year 

American Horror Story 1984
Big Little Lies
RuPaul’s Drag Race
*The Politician

The “We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award

Roman Griffin Davis 
Kaitlyn Dever
Beanie Feldstein
*Florence Pugh
Hunter Schafer

Wilde Wit of the Year 
(Honoring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse)

Dan Levy
Billy Porter 
Randy Rainbow
Taika Waititi
*Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Wilde Artist of the Decade (Special Accolade)

*Lady Gaga
Greta Gerwig
Ryan Murphy
Billy Porter
Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Timeless Star (Career achievement award)

*Catherine O’Hara

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics, comprised of 260 mainly U.S. journalists covering film and television, has named its final-round choics for 2019’s finest movies, performances and more across a host of mainstream and LGBTQ-focused categories. 

GALECA, formed in 2009, aims to generate camaraderie and solidarity in an unsettling media environment, champion constructive film and television criticism and elevate the craft of entertainment journalism. Via panels, screenings and our annual Dorian Awards, GALECA also strives to remind at-risk youth, bullies and bigots that the world looks to the Q eye for leads on great, unique movies and TV. And how would the world fare without knowing what’s campy? GALECA is a proud core member of CGEM: Critics Groups for Equality in Media. 

For more details on the organisation head to and follow The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics on Instagram @Dorian_Awards and on Twitter @DorianAwards and Facebook at DorianAwards.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑