Tonight amfAR’s virtual fundraiser A Gala for Our Time to honour Dr. Anthony S. Fauci & Glenn Close for their contributions to the fight against AIDS

Tonight’s A Gala for Our Time is a free virtual benefit in support of amfAR, including its Fund to fight Covid-19 and will pay tribute to Dr. Anthony Fauci and Glenn Close.

Live streaming on YouTube via at 8pm ET on Thursday March 4th, Fauci and Close will be presented with amfAR’s Award of Courage. Julia Roberts will present the award to Dr. Fauci and Bette Midler will present to Ms. Close.  Kelly Clarkson, Rita Ora and Ava Max will give special performances, and Billy Porter, a newly elected amfAR Trustee, will also participate in the event. With additional appearances by Olly Alexander, Cindy Bruna, Boy George, Emily Hampshire, Chelsea Handler, Magic Johnson, Jon Kortajarena, Nathan Lane and It’s A Sin star Lydia West

amfAR’s A Gala for our Time Preview

Lily Aldridge, Alessandra Ambrosio, Derek Blasberg, David Bohnett, Matthew Broderick, Lee Daniels, Diplo, Jay Ellis, Morgan Freeman, Iman, Jeremy Irons, Cheyenne Jackson, Milla Jovovich, Nicole Kidman, Heidi Klum, Padma Lakshmi, Laura Linney, Michael Lorber, Julianna Margulies, Catherine O’Hara, Kenny Ortega, Sarah Jessica Parker, Marc Porter, Jonathan Pryce, Coco Rocha, Carine Roitfeld, Jeffrey Schoenfeld, Raymond Schinazi, Lara Stone and Ellen von Unwerth will be chairs of the event as well as amfAR Board co-chairs Kevin McClatchy and T. Ryan Greenawalt. 

A Gala for our Time, which will be approximately 30 minutes, will be free and open to all, with viewers encouraged to donate to the amfAR and its Fund to Fight COVID-19 ( 

While it remains fully committed to developing a cure for HIV, amfAR has temporarily expanded the scope of its work to include research on the coronavirus. The amfAR Fund to Fight COVID-19 is supporting efforts to develop effective treatments that will help bring an end to this deadly new pandemic.

For 35 years, amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research, has been committed to funding HIV research and to finding a cure for the 38 million people worldwide living with HIV. When the new pandemic hit, many HIV researchers pivoted to focus on the immediate crisis of COVID-19. amfAR decided to support their efforts and is working to identify gaps in coronavirus research and quickly mobilize resources to fill them.   

Each year amfAR presents its Award of Courage to extraordinary individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to important social and humanitarian causes, particularly to amfAR and the global HIV/AIDS response. Previous recipients of the award include President Bill Clinton, Sir Elton John and David Furnish, Dame Elizabeth Taylor, Harry Belafonte, Vanessa Redgrave, Joely Richardson, and Scarlett Johansson, among many others.  

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: