Bright Lights, Big Fun City – Album Review: Fun City by Bright Light Bright Light ★★★★

Bright Light Bright Light aka Rod Thomas’ latest album Fun City is a slick, heartfelt dancefloor masterpiece that wears its purple influences as proudly as its star-studded features. An LGBTQ+ who’s who with the likes of Sam Sparro, Jake Shears, Caveboy, Justin Vivian Bond and Andy Bell all dropping in on tracks that buzz with the dancefloor we have been denied for months now. Of all the things that can be said about this horrible year, 2020 will never be decried for its glut of great dance albums. Fun City is the more ornate, lovelorn best friend to Jessie Ware’s athletic, watershed What’s Your Pleasure?  

Fun CityThe Queer Review’s essential tracks: 

You Make It So Easy Don’t You features singer songwriter Sam Sparro, always a welcome voice and is a stand out track amongst some striking grooves. Breezy and as effortless as the title and subject matter suggests, this is a summer tune shot through with some Provincetown sunshine. 

I Used to Be Cool gives all the disco life while professing the coy insecurity of someone perhaps feeling his own mortality. 

Bright Light Bright Light ‘I Used To Be Cool’

It’s Alright, Its Okay drops a spartan take on a Chaka Khan bass line into an anthemic co-vocal with Caveboy. Sweet and positive without a twee note in earshot. 

Andy Bell, crooning among beats is always something I’ll be drawn to and Good At Goodbyes one ups and (speeds up) the mood of Boy George’s I Specialize In Loneliness in all the best angsty, raining Sunday ways possible.

At any moment during Sensation I expected Jake Shears to pull Kylie Minogue out of his back pocket. Stomper dancefloor vibes testifying for a love that gets vaguely spiritual towards the end. 

Bright Light Bright Light & Jake Shears ‘Sensation’ (Official Audio)

This Was My House is quite a 90s downbeat Deee-Lite, with Madonna’s legendary backing singers Niki Harris and Donna De Lory serving a tune that should be in the next season of Pose

Bright Light Bright Light – This Was My House

Bright Light Bright Light functioning at peak pink perfection. Highly recommended. (Also, in case you missed it, Bright Light Bright Light’s recent remix of Bananarama’s Tonight is fantastic.)

By James Derek Dwyer

Bright Light Bright Light’s Fun City is released this Friday September 18th on his own label YSKWN!, in partnership with Megaforce Records and The Orchard.

Celebrate the release with ‘Greetings From Fun City‘ a “TV Special live show” livestream broadcast filmed at New York’s Club Cumming. Filmed socially distanced, special guests appear virtually. Greetings from Fun City – September 18th at 8pm. The show will be broadcast four times across four timezones: Australia (AEST ), United Kingdom (BST), US East Coast (EDT) & US West Coast (PDT). For more details or to purchase a ticket head here.

Fun City Album Full Track Listing:

  1. “Touchy” (feat. Brendan MacLean)
  2. “I Used To Be Cool”
  3. “Sensation” (feat. Jake Shears)
  4. “Good at Goodbyes” (feat. Andy Bell)
  5. “You Make It So Easy Don’t You” (feat. Sam Sparro)
  6. “It’s Alright It’s Okay” (feat. Caveboy)
  7. “This Was My House” (feat. Niki Haris, Donna De Lory & Initial Talk)
  8. “Never be Lonely” (feat. KAYE)
  9. “These Dreams” (feat. The Illustrious Blacks)
  10. “Love Song” (feat. Big Dipper)
  11. “Next To You” (feat. Mark Gatiss)
  12. “Saying Goodbye Is Exhausting” (feat. Justin Vivian Bond)

One thought on “Bright Lights, Big Fun City – Album Review: Fun City by Bright Light Bright Light ★★★★

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Up ↑